ICC 14

Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)

Meeting at ICC 2014, Sydney, Australia
12 June, 2014

1. Introductions – The meeting began at 12:45 PM. Attendees introduced themselves. SPCE Co-Chair, Prof. Hai Lin, welcomed the members to the meeting.

2. Minutes of GC 2013 – The draft GC 2013 meeting minutes were shown and Co-Chair Lin asked if there were any necessary modifications. There were none and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE Web site.

3. Technical Program Committee Reports

A. ICC 2014: Abbas Jamalipour, TPC Chair. Sanjay Jha and Grenville Armitage, TPC Vice-Chairs. SPC Symposium Lead Co-Chair: Tomohiko Taniguchi. Dr. Taniguchi reported 180 submissions, 68 accepted, acceptance ratio 37.8 %.

B. GLOBECOM 2014: Robert Heath and Jeff Andrews, TPC Vice-Chairs. Representatives of the SPCE to the SPC Symposium: Feifei Gao, WCS Symposium: Luc Deneire, and CTS Symposium: P. Y. Kam (as Co-Chairs). There were 197 submissions to the SPC Symposium, out of which 85 received scores of 3.4 and higher, with 64 papers having scores above 3.5. The decision on the accepted papers has not been finalized yet.

C. ICC 2015: Nathan Gomes and Athanassios Manikas, TPC Vice-Chairs. The Co-Chairs for the SPC Symposium are: Sumei Sun, Henk Wymeersch, and Fu-Chun Zheng.

D. GLOBECOM 2015: Ramesh Rao, TPC Chair. The SPCE TC nominations: Jingxian Wu (WC), Octavia Dobre (CT), and Himal Suraweera and Hung Nguyen (SPC).

E. ICC 2016: Stefano Bregni and Nelson Fonseca (TPC Co-Chairs), The SPCE TC nominations: Dimitrie Popescu (WC), Xu Zhu (CT), and Shaodan Ma (SPC).

4. Endorsed Conferences

A. IEEE ICT14 (Lisbon, 5 -7 May 2014, http://www.ict-2014.org)

SPCE Representatives: Luc Deneire, Nan Zhao, Mohammed Usman.

B. IEEE WCSP14 (Hefei, China, 23 -25 October 2014, http://www.ic-wcsp.org/)
SPCE Representatives: Bo Ai

C. IEEE ICSPCS 2014 (Gold Coast, Australia, 15 -17 December 2014, http://www.dspcs-witsp.com/icspcs_2014/index.html)
SPCE Representatives: Zhe Chen, and Yufeng Wang.

5. ComSoc Student Competition Program; SPCE Representative: Shaodan Ma.

6. Report based on the ComSoc SDB Meetings in March and April 2014.

7. SPCE Membership: less than 200 feedback received form the Recertification Committee. Currently, we have 242 members.

4. Other Businesses:

A. A few upcoming deadlines for journal special issues were announced.

B. Participation in standardization activities was discussed.

C. The increase of the SPCE technical activities was discussed.

D. Next SPCE meeting will be held during GLOBECOM 2014 in Austin, Texas, USA.

Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 1:45 PM. There were 62 people in attendance.


Alberto Rabbachin European Commission a.rabbachin@ieee.org
Andrea Conti University of Ferrara a.conti@ieee.org
Baoxian Zhang University of Chinese Academy of Sciences bxzhang@ucas.ac. cn
Bingpeng Zhou SWJTU zhoubingpeng@163.com
Bo Bai Tsinghua University eebobai@tsinghua.edu.cn
Chang Li Hong Kong University of Science and Technology changli@ust.hk
Cheng Li Memorial University licheng@mun.ca
Chia-Han Lee Academia Sinica chiahan@city.sinica.edu.tw
Chih-Peng Li National Sun Yat-Sen University chihpengli@gmail.com
Davide Dardari University of Bologna davide.dardari@unibo.it
Fulvio Babich University of Trieste babich@units.it
George Chrisikos Qualcomm Inc. gchrisikos@ieee.org
Guan Yong Liang Nanyang Technological University ylguan@ntu.edu.sg
Hai Lin Osaka Prefecture University hai.lin@ieee.org
Hsi-Piu Ma National Tsing Hua University hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Hsuan-Jung Su National Taiwan University hjsu@ntu.edu.tw
Hung-Yu Wei National Taiwan University hywei@ntu.edu.tw
Jingxian Wu University of Arkansas wuj@uark.edu
Jinhong Yuan UNSW j.yuan@unsw.edu.au
Jun Zhang Hong Kong University of Science and Technology eejzhang@ece.ust.hk
Jun Zheng Southeast University junzheng@seu. edu.cn
Linda Davis University of South Australia linda.davis@unisa.edu.au
Lingyang Song Peking University lingyang.song@pku.edu.cn
Lu Yang Hong Kong University of Science and Technology yangluo720@gmail.com
Maged Elkashlan Queen Mary University of London maged.elkashlan@qmul.ac.uk
Marco Chiani University of Bologna marco.chiani@unibo.it
Meixia Tao Shanghai Jiao Tong University mxtao@sjtu.edu.cn
Michael Hamra EM Simulation Systems michael. hamra@emstice.com
Michael Rice Brigham Young University mdr@byu.edu
Moe Win MIT moewin@mit.edu
Muhammad Ali Imran University of Surrey m.imran@surrey.ac.uk
Muhammad Zeeshan Shakir Texas A&M University at Qatar muhammad.shakir@qatar.tamu.edu
Nordin Ramli MIMOS Malaysia nordin@ieee.org
Octavia Dobre Memorial University odobre@mun.ca
Peng Wang University of Sydney peng.wang@sydney.edu.au
Pooi-Yuen Kam National University of Singapore elekampy@nus.edu.sg
Ranjan.K.Mallik IT Delhi rkmallik@ee.iitd.ernet.in
Rath Vannithamby Intel Corporation rath.vannithamby@intel.com
Rui Dinis Universidade Nova de Lisboa rdinis@fct.unl.pt
Shaodan Ma University of Macau shaodanma@umac.mo
Shih Yu Chang National Tsing Hua University shihyuch@cs.nthu.edu.tw
Shuguang Cui Texas A&M University cui@tamu.edu
Sun Sumei I2R Singapore sumsm@i2r.a-star.edu.sg
Tadeusz Wysocki University of Nebraska twysocki2@unl.edu
Taewon Hwang Yonsei University (Korea) twhwang@ yonsei.ac.kr
Takahiko Saba Chiba Institute of Technology saba@cs.it-chiba.ac.jp
Tarik Taleb NEC Europe talebtarik@ieee.org
Telex Ngatched Memorial University
Tomo Taniguchi Fujitsu
Tomoaki Ohtsuki Keio University ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp
Wei Chen Tsinghua University wchen@tsinghua.edu.cn
Wei Zhang University of New South Wales w.zhang@unsw.edu.au
Weixi Zhou SWJTU zhouweixister@gmail.com
Xianbin Wang University of Western Ontario xianbin.wang@uwo.ca
Xiaodai Dong University of Victoria xdong@ece.uvic.ca
Xiaojun Yuan ShanghaiTech University yuanxj@@shanghaitech.edu.cn
Xu Zhu University of Liverpool xuzhu@liverpool.ac.uk
Y.-W. Peter Hong National Tsing Hua University ywhong@nthu.edu.tw
Yik-Chung Wu University of Hong Kong ycwu@eee.hku.hk
Ying-Chang Liang I2R Singapore ycliang@ieee.org
Yonghui Li University of Sydney yonghui.li@sydney.edu.au
Yulong Zou Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications yulong.zou@nupt.edu.cn