ICC 12

Signal Processing and Communications Electronics Technical Committee (SPCE)

Meeting at ICC 2012, Ottawa, Canada
13 June, 2012

1. Introductions – The meeting began at 12:30 PM. Attendees introduced themselves. SPCE Chair Hung Nguyen welcomed the members to the meeting.

2. Minutes of GC 2011 – The draft GC 2011 meeting minutes were shown and Chair Nguyen asked if there were any necessary modifications. There were none and the minutes were then approved to be posted on the SPCE Web site.

3. Technical Program Committee Reports

A. ICNC 2012: TPC Co-Chair: Dr. Hung Nguyen: SPC Symposium Co-Chairs: Profs. Hai Lin (Osaka Prefecture University, Japan) and Octavia Dobre (Memorial University, Newfoundland, Canada). It was very successful and the organizers decided that ICNC 2013 is to follow.

B. ICC 2012: Hussein Mouftah, TPC Chair. Raouf, Boutaba, TPC Co-Chair. Hossam Hassanein, Symposia Chair. Chengshan Xiao, Symposia Co-Chair. SPC Symposium Co-Chair: Nallanathan Arumugam and Said Boussakta. Prof. Nallanathan Arumugam reported 206 submissions, 75 accepted, acceptance ratio 36.4%.

C. GLOBECOM 2012: Zhensheng Zhang, TPC Chair. Stefano Bregni, TPC Vice-Chair. Abbas Jamalipour and Nei Kato, Symposia Co-Chairs. SPC Symposium Co-Chair Profs. Hsiao-Chun Wu, Tomoaki Ohtsuki and Ying-Chang Liang. Prof. Hsiao-chun Wu reported 216 submissions.

D. ICC 2013: Andreas F. Molisch, TPC Chair. Andrea Conti. Iain Collings, TPC Vice-Chairs. SPC Symposium Co-Chair: Hai Lin, Octavia Dobre, Said Boussakta and Hongyang Chen. Dr. Hai Lin reported that the TPC members have been invited.

E. GLOBECOM 2013: John Barry, TPC. Matt Valenti, TPC Vice-Chair. Tommaso Melodia, TPC Vice-Chair. SPC co-chair: Octavia Dobre, CTS co-chair: Nallanathan Arumugam, WCS co-chair: Hai Lin. There is a TPC meeting later this afternoon.

F. ICC 2014: Abbas Jamalipour, TPC Chair. Sanjay Jha, TPC Vice-Chair. Grenville Armitage, T PC Vice-Chair. Nei Kato, Symposia Chair. Drs Tomohiko Taniguchi and Feifei Gao were nominated as SPCE representatives for SPC symposium. Drs Hung Nguyen and Nallanathan Arumugam were nominated for WC and CT symposiums, respectively.

G. GLOBECOM 2014: 8-12 December 2014, Austin, Texas, USA, TPC Chair (TBD)

4. Other Businesses:

A. One IEEE Fellow Grade Endorsement was made. Prof. M. Win suggested more endorsement activities for TC recertification.

B. SPCE Outstanding Service Award: Call for Nominations. Award to be presented at Globecom 2012.

C. SPCE Technical Recognition Award: Solicit objectives from membership. Propose modifying policies and procedures to cover this award and get approval from membership at Globecom 2012. Aim for first award at ICC 2013.

D. SPCE TC Election to be held at Globecom 2012: Calls for Nominations for all 3 positions. New officers for the 2013-2014 term.

E. Discussion on SPCS topics: Next SPCE meeting will be held during GLOBECOM 2012 in Anaheim, CA, USA.

Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 PM.  There were 27 people in attendance.


Hung Nguyen The Aerospace Corporation, USA hunguyen@ieee.org
Arumugam Nallanathan Kings College London, UK nallanathan@ieee.org
Tomohiko Taniguchi Fujitsu Labs, Japan t-taniguchi@jp.fujitsu.com
Tomoaki Ohtsuki Keio University, Japan ohtsuki@ics.keio.ac.jp
Hai Lin Osaka Pref. Univ., Japan hai.lin@ieee.org
Xianbin Wang University of Western Ontario, Canada wang@eng.uwo.ca
His-Pin Ma National Tsinghua Univ., Taiwan hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw
Yindi Jing University of Alberta, Canada yindi@ualberta.ca
Xu Zhu University of Liverpool, UK xuzhu@liverpool.ac.uk
Himal Suraweera SUTD, Singapore himalsuraweera@sutd.edu.sg
Yonggang Wen Nanyang Technological University, Singapore ygwen@ntu.edu.sg
Dimitrie Popescu Old Dominion University, USA dpopescu@odu.edu
Moe Win MIT moewin@mit.edu
Hsiao-Chun Wu Louisiana State Univ., USA wu@ece.lsu.edu
Feifei Gao Tsinghua University, China feifeigao@ieee.org
Andrea Conti Univ. of Ferrara, Italy a.conti@ieee.org
Lingyang Song Peking University, China Lingyang.song@gmail.com
Alberto Rabbachin MIT rabalb@mit.edu
Ebrahim Bedeer Memorial University, Canada e.bedeer@mun.ca
Yahia Ahmed Memorial University, Canada yae684@mun.ca
Wei Chen Tsinghua University wchen@tsinghua.edu.cn
Tony Quek SUTD, Singapore tonyquek@sutd.edu.sg
Yunxiang Wu LSI yunxiang.wu@lsi.com
Shahram Shahbnazpandahi UOIT, Canada shahram.shahbazpanahi@uoit.ca
Jingxian Wu University of Arkansas wuj@uark.edu
Shigang Chen UFL sgchen@cise.ufl.edu
George Chrisikos Qualcomm gchrisikos@ieee.org